All NewsNewsTop News

Amaechi, Akpabio not returning as Buhari nominates new ministers

The Senate has received seven new nominees from President Muhammadu Buhari for consideration and confirmation as, Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Their nomination is contained in a letter addressed to President of Senate, Dr .Ahmad Lawan and read at plenary on Tuesday.


Buhari in the letter listed the ministerial designates to include: Henry Ikechukwu (Abia), Umana Okon-Umana(Akwa-Ibom), Ekuma Joseph (Ebonyi), Goodluck Obia (Imo) Umar Ibrahim(Kano), Ademola Adewole (Ondo), Udum Odi (Rivers).

Buhari said it was his expectation to receive the usual expeditious consideration and confirmation of the nominees by the Senate.

Philip Aduda emerges Senate Minority Leader

However, Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Godswill Akpabio and Emeka Nwajiuba will not return as Ministers.

It had been speculated that the former Ministers would return after resigning to pursue their presidential bids on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button