All NewsNewsPoliticsTop News

Gov Fubara charges new commissioners to work for greater Rivers State

Governor of Rivers State, Sir Siminalayi Fubara has charged newly sworn-in commissioners to cultivate the culture of team work by mobilsing staff in their ministries of posting to ensure higher productivity and promotion of the interest of the State.


Sir Fubara gave the charge when he swore-in five new commissioners at the Executive Chamber of Government House in Port Harcourt on Friday.


Those sworn-in are Dr. Gift Worlu, Engr. Austin Ben Chioma, Prince Isaac Umejuru, Mr. Joseph Johnson and Mr. Victor Kii.


Governor Fubara said to deliver his electioneering promises, he needs capable and competent people on board to create a greater Rivers and they have been chosen to contribute their best to achieve that goal.

READ ALSO: Governor Fubara gets partnership commitment from MAN

According to the governor: “we have in our midst today very capable people who are going to add value to our system. Some of you might have been nominated from your local government after deliberations but here, you are not representing your local governments, you are working for the State.


“The task is to deliver for the State. Your loyalty is to the State because if you don’t do that, when you leave, whether you like it or not, the records will be there to show what you did while you served as a commissioner. So, I charge you to leave your local issues and focus on promoting the interest of our State. That is the only way the theme that we all agreed on, consolidation and continuity, can be felt in our State.”


Governor Fubara advised them against administering their assigned ministries as sole administrators but work as team leaders galvernising the permanent secretaries, directors and other levels of staff to achieve given task.

The newly sworn-in Commissioners and their Portfolios:


1. Dr. Gift Worlu – Commissioner for Housing


2. Engr. Austin Ben Chioma – Commissioner for Environment


3. Prince Isaac Umejuru – Commissioner for Physical Planning & Urban Development


4. Mr. Joseph Johnson – Commissioner for Information & Communication


5. Mr. Victor Kii – Commissioner for Agriculture


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please turn off Adblocker or whitelist this website in your Adblocker to enable us display ads